Local Councils


Oxfordshire has one county council, five smaller district councils and even smaller town and parish councils. Each council is responsible for providing different services to the public. Local authorities are only some of the organisations delivering services to the public in Oxfordshire. There are other government-funded bodies such as the health service and the police. In addition, Oxfordshire elects six MPs to Parliament.

Parish and town councillors represent smaller geographical areas such as Wallingford and the Astons. In Oxfordshire there are 234 parish councils, 15 town councils and 68 parish meetings. Parish councils consist of members of the public from the parish.

Our Parish Council

The Aston Tirrold and Aston Upthorpe Parish Council meets monthly to discuss planning applications and issues concerning the residents of the villages.

South Oxfordshire District Council (SODC)

SODC is one of the 5 District Councils in Oxfordshire and represents the Astons. (see map left)
The main services provided by SODC include:

  • environmental health
  • housing
  • leisure and recreation
  • planning applications
  • waste collection

Learn more about SODC on their website pages here: 


Oxfordshire County Council (OCC)

OCC is responsible for 80% of the local government services in the county. This includes:

  • children’s services
  • some education services
  • fire and rescue
  • libraries and museums
  • roads
  • social care
  • trading standards
  • waste disposal

Learn more about Oxfordshire County Council on their website here: